CMA CGM Marco Polo

Le plus grand porte-conteneurs du monde

396 m de long / 16 000 evp

CMA CGM MARCO POLO

Le CMA CGM Marco Polo fait escale à Khor Fakkan le 5 janvier

Auteur

Le 5 janvier, le CMA CGM Marco Polo fera escale au port de Khor Fakkan aux Emirats Arabes Unis. Khor Fakkan est un des ports les plus performants pour le transport de conteneurs. Il est stratégiquement situé sur les principales routes qui relient l’Europe à l’Asie,  tout en étant à l’abri des dangers du détroit d’Hormuz. Il est également à moins de 3 heures des principaux centres urbains comme Duba, Sharjah et Abu Dhabi. Sa situation en fait donc une escale stratégique.

Khor Fakkan en chiffres :

- Nombre de quais : 6

- Longeur des quais : 2000 mètres

- Profondeur : 16 mètres

- Aire de stockage : 450 000 m²

- 26 portiques

A propos

Le 5 novembre, le Groupe CMA CGM a pris livraison du plus grand navire de sa flotte, et plus grand porte-conteneur au monde (en capacité) à ce jour, le CMA CGM MARCO POLO, pouvant transporter jusqu’à 16.000 EVP.
A travers ce blog, vous découvrirez aussi bien ce navire que de nombreux aspects de la marine marchande : de la construction du navire, à la formation des marins en passant par les marchandises transportées ou les innovations technologiques en faveur de l’environnement.

CMA CGM Marco Polo

The World's largest containership

396 meters long / 16,000 TEUs

CMA CGM MARCO POLO

The CMA CGM Marco Polo makes her call at Khor Fakkan on January 5th

Posted by

On January, 5th, The CMA CGM Marco Polo will call at Khor Fakkan in the United Arab Emirates. Khor Fakkan is one of the world’s leading container transshipment ports. It is strategically located on Sharjah’s Indian Ocean coast, outside the sensitive Straits of Hormuz and close to the main east-west shipping routes. It is only three hours from the UAE’s main centers of population, Dubai, Sharjah and Abu Dhabi on the Arabian Gulf coast. Khorfakkan’s location makes it an obvious choice for shipping lines with large transshipment volumes, who also require easy access to the UAE hinterland.

Khor Fakkan in figures :

– No. of Quays: 6
– Quay Length: 2000 Meters
– Depth Alongside: 16m at MLW
– Storage Area: 450,000 sq. meters.
– 26 Yard Gantries

About

On 5 November, the CMA CGM Group took delivery of the biggest vessel in its fleet and currently the world’s largest (capacity) containership, the CMA CGM MARCO POLO capable of carrying up to 16,000 TEUs.
With this blog, you will find out all about the vessel as well as many interesting aspects of a merchant fleet: from building the vessel, to training those who sail on her, the goods carried and the technical innovations to protect the environment.